ELIUD KIPCHOGE and CATERINE IBARGUEN have been named the male and female WORLD ATHLETES OF THE YEAR AT THE IAAF ATHLETICS AWARDS 2018, held at the GRIMALDI FORUM in MONACO on Tuesday according to a press release from the IAAF.

KIPCHOGE underlined his status as the world’s most dominant distance runner for 2018. The 34-year-old Kenyan won the LONDON MARATHON in April and five months later, he won the BERLIN MARATHON, in 2:01:39 to smash the world record. His time in the German capital was 78 seconds faster than the previous world record, representing the biggest single improvement on a men’s marathon world record since 1967.

IAAF female athlete of the year CATERINE IBARGUEN is the best trible jumper in the world, she also tested herself against the world’s best in the long jump this year – and consistently came out on top.

The 34-year-old Colombian won both horizontal jumps at the CENTRAL AMERICAN AND CARIBBEAN GAMES, the IAAF CONTINENTAL CUP and at the IAAF DIAMOND LEAGUE FINALS – winning the latter two titles in two different cities within the space of 24 hours.

She was unbeaten in all eight of her triple jump competitions, ending the year with a world-leading mark of 14.96m in her specialist event and a national record of 6.93m in the long jump.

In other categories  Swedish ARMAND DUPLANTIS won the male rising star award. The pole vaulter won the senior European title by breaking his own world U20 record three times within the competition. He went over 5.95m, 6.00m and 6.05m on his first attempts, winning with a height that has been bettered outdoors only by  the legendary SERGEY BUBKA.

While us sprinter SYNDEY MCLAUGHLIN won the female rising star award.

MCLAUGHLIN broke her own world U20 400m hurdles record of 52.75sec. Not only was that mark the fastest time in the world this year, it also moved her into the top 10 on the world all-time list.

In other categories:

ANDREAS BRUGGER who is  91 years old  and  former shot putter won the IAAF PRESIDENT’S AWARD.

IAAF Coaching Achievement of the Year – JOE VIGIL

IAAF Woman of the Year Award – EVELYN CLAUDIO LOPEZ

Athletics Photograph of the Year – FELIX SANCHEZ ARRAZOLA